Services & Offerings

QA/QC and CX Onsite Management

Beyond testing individual electrical equipment components, there is a need to verify that installed electrical systems match design documents, construction submittals, and owner’s project requirements (OPR), and to document functional performance testing. Electrical commissioning may be optional or required depending on the code or certifications required by the project. The commissioning agent (CxA) or commissioning provider (CxP) is a critical part of the design and construction team and should be engaged early in the design and construction process.

Fundamental commissioning activities performed by the CxA include:

  • Participate and review in development of basis of design (BOD).
  • Design review prior to 50% construction documents.
  • Confirm incorporation of commissioning requirements into construction documents.
  • Develop or approve construction checklists.
  • Develop or approve system test procedures.
  • Witness the electrical system’s functional testing.
  • Review and document an issue log or issue management software (CX-Alloy or BIM360) throughout the commissioning process.
  • Report findings directly to the owner throughout the process.
  • Develop or approve the summary commissioning report.

We cover all five levels of CX:

Level 1: Factory witness testing: The consulting engineer should outline the testing protocol in bid specifications. The engineer should be present, along with the possible installing contractor, CxA, or owner’s representative, to witness that the equipment performs according to the owner/operator’s standards before the equipment is approved and shipped to the site.

Level 2: Site-acceptance inspection: When the equipment arrives onsite, it is inspected to confirm it meets specified requirements. Although Level 1 can minimize issues found in Level 2, changes often occur after factory testing and shipping have caused damage or because shipped items have missing parts.

Level 3: Pre-functional testing (PFT): This level involves the inspection of the initial install equipment to verify that all equipment is installed properly and that installation meets specified standards and requirements. Equipment also is started for the first time to check basic functionality.

Level 4: Functional performance testing: After basic start-up, the CxA will review functional performance testing. This includes the review of any protective-device settings, automatic controls and functions, remote communications or controls, and more.

Level 5: Integrated systems testing (IST): This is often referred to as the “pull-the-plug” tests. The utility power source(s) can be shut off, and the entire system (multiple paths, generators, uninterruptible power supplies) is observed to confirm it functions as intended under loss of power.

Praetorian Power Protection has an extensive background in the entire CX Commissioning process and has completed many Mission Critical facilities turning over substantial completion with reliable systems ready to operate across North America.